Catfish Sandwiches and Hushpuppies…too good to count cals!

Last week Sunday, NF and I decided Catfish and Hushpuppies was the way to go. I don’t have too much time to write too much about this, but I will say this:

The Catfish Sandwiches…with white bread, hot sauce, and mayo (the only way to go), was amazing. This Catfish sandwich is so traditional in the South at church fish-fries and whatnot, where they slap the freshly fried fish on a white piece of bread and you fend for yourself with hotsauce and the greasy bread. Ours seemed just as epic.

Hushpuppies!? Well they are pretty much my favorite southern side ever (okay top 5). I made them from scratch…yes with baking soda and cornmeal and all that. They were heavenly, better than the kinds I’d tried at the two different restaurants I’ve had them from. Probably because mine were light and fluffy, while the others were hard and dense. All taste amazing tho…especially with that honey for dipping. It’s interesting how I formed them. After mixing all the ingredients, I pretty much blobbed each pup into the deep-frying oil, and as the mix continued to drip in the same area as the mixture already blobbed in…it formed a ball sort of thing that stuck together. Pretty cool!

Leave a comment