Make a Calzone tonight?!…okay!

I was pretty shocked when NF said for dinner he wanted us to make calzones. Calzones?! Like those enclosed pizzas? The things I never order but am well aware they are probably really good?  Well, alright…he seemed to think we could do it, and I’m always down for a challenge. But I did insist we use Pilsbury Pizza Dough instead of making our own…that was just too much for me to handle.

We picked out and prepared our favorite ingredients to be stuffed into the dough: caramelized onions and mushrooms, sauteed garlic, spicy italian sausage, pepperoni, pizza sauce, and mozzarella cheese. Then you pile it on top of half a 12-inch piece of dough, fold the other part over, and then seal the edges down with a fork. Finish it off by brushing it with an egg wash. Bake for about 20min on 400-degrees. Super easy, obviously you can fill it with whatever you like (let the experimentation begin!)

Happiness is sharing my passion with loved ones…

 Sausage & Pepperoni Calzone

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Make a Calzone tonight?!…okay!”
  1. melissa says:

    ah yes, I almost forgot I never commented on your calzone post. I was going to tell you I LOVE these. looooove them. but stuffed with a shit load of spinach. another blogger I read also makes them and posts them from time to time and I always drool. like I did when I saw yours. 🙂

    I need to just buy the pillsbury and do it myself. I am not about to make my own dough.

  2. Brett says:

    I have my calzones in the oven right now seriously. the pillsbury pizza dough is a good call. i have made 4 of them. (some for during the week at work obviously) 2 veggie 2 meat lovers. happy holidaze!!

Leave a comment